My degree classification - advice anyone?

Found 13th Dec 2010
Ok,

I have a 2.2 degree in Biology. I was expecting a 2.1 and i am feeling quite worried. Is it going to be really hard to get a good job with a 2.2?? anybody on here have any past experience/advice??

Thanks

15 Comments

I think your going to struggle.

First think about the options available to you:
I'm qualified biochemist 1:1 honours and still getting a job would've been difficult at these times. I graduated last year and am doing dentistry now so that would certainly be an option. Another is PGCE (as you prob already know) to go into teaching. You may wanna take on masters/PhD (in a part of the field that you like) and see where you head from there. These are the options available.

There's no such thing as getting a good job. One that pays a lot is not necessarily the best thing that you can get. Think about something that you enjoy and then look for a job surrounding that. And later as experience comes you'll work your self up to earn good money. There are agencies out there that looks for jobs for you. Nature jobs can also guide you to it. You may consider applying to companies straight from uni, I remember in the final year everyone applying through uni website as organised by lectures,whilst I was applying to dental schools. You'll have fairs to attend that may give you the BIGGEST opportunity to see where you wanna head (at least that's what I think). Hope that helps dipstick (sorry it was too tempting!)

You can pm me at anytime if you need further help. I may be slow at replying, I have an exam on Wed.

Original Poster

Cheers Mdamz!
If only i worked as hard in my second year as i did in my third!

Feels bad starting off this message saying "Hello Dipstick!" =/