Expired

My Norton AntiVirus has expired. Are there any cheap (or free) alternatives?

Found 16th Jul 2007
My Norton antivirus ran out at the weekend, and I dont really want to pay for another one if I can help it.

I know there was a thread about free antivirus software a little while ago. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks in advance!

13 Comments

F-secure OEM 2006 version from Ebuyer - about £12 including postage or you could get Panda Internet 2006 (free upgrade to 2007 and 3 user licence) for about £5/£6 including postage. Althought F-secure is amongst the best don't think Panda is...

bod emrys

Try AVG Free from here:]http://free.grisoft.com/It's free (as the name … Try AVG Free from here:]http://free.grisoft.com/It's free (as the name suggests) and I've been using it for about 3 years now with no problems at all (I used to be with norton too).AVG is excellent - there is no need to pay for antivirus software!

Seconded, wholeheartedly!

Original Poster

Thanks guys!

I also found a year free subscription to Mcafee through a Natwest offer (]POST #350).

Would you recommend AVG ahead of this?

Cheers!

avg or nod32 for me. wouldnt use any norton software they use far too much resources. all other software use too much memory and slow the pc down.

^^^^exactly AVG only something like 13 meg doesnt do nothing to slow down your p.c

[url]www.avast.com[/url]

Personally I feel better than AVG and its free too.

Another recommendation for AVG, I've found they've improved their cleaning capabilites over the last year or so to improve it further - I find it's unobtrusive and doesn't slow the PC down, highly recommended.

John

Ian182

Thanks guys! I also found a year free subscription to Mcafee through a … Thanks guys! I also found a year free subscription to Mcafee through a Natwest offer (]POST #350). Would you recommend AVG ahead of this?Cheers!