My wing mirror was snapped off while parked in a hotel...

..underground car park (hilton york).

When i arrived the consierge or whatever hes called insisted on parking the car, I didnt use it again untill I was checking out, i left the hotel then a mile down the road it just dropped off.

Now im no mechanic but i do know these things dont just drop off.

I called them, they said they would get the manager to call me back, over a week later i was still waiting for the call so i called them again, 4 phone calls later I finally speak to her who then tells me that theres a sign on the wall saying cars parked here are at the owners risk and they cant do anything about it because i drove away without reporting it.

If it was a normal carpark, fair enough but i didnt even park the car.

Is it worth me pursuing further or am i fighting a loosing battle?

11 Comments

if thats you in yr avi send them a pic then ask em again what theyre going to do

p.s i know its not

Usually isn't that the terms of any car park. I would still call them back and tell her that it was the concierge who insisted on parking your car for you therefore you had no knowledge of any signs or terms of car park use..

Hotel Proprietors Act

Loss or damage to a guest's property

Under the Hotel Proprietors Act 1956, a hotel proprietor may in certain circumstances be liable to make good any loss or damage to a guests property even though it was not due to any fault of the proprietor or any staff at the hotel.

This liability however - (a) extends only to the property of guests who have engaged in sleeping accommodation at the hotel; (b) is limited to £50 for any one article and a total of £100 in the case of any one guest, except in the case of property which has been deposited, or offered for deposit, for safe custody;(c) does not cover motor cars or any other vehicles of any kind or property left in them, or horses or live animals.