Groups

natwest credit card charges abroad..please help!!

Im planning on going to france and switzerland and wanted to use my natwest credit card(its the standard one with an overdraft of 500£ on it as im a student if that helps). I used my natwest debit card in paris over xmas and for about £200 in fragmented withdrawals i was only charged a couple of pound altogether which im pretty impressed with. But i withdrew £70 on my credit card from an english atm and was charged like £8.. so whats this going to be like abroad? I know abbey national do the free one but im going in 2 weeks and cant wait! anyone knowledgable on this subject?? e.g. should i withdraw funds from my credit card and put it on my debit card to reduce fees? im pretty clueless any help appreciated x

5 Comments

The fees for cash in U.K. and Europe is 2.75% handling and daily interst at about 17% compound........do not use the card for cash use it for purchasing as it is accepted in nearly all bars and restaurants.

Banned

Cant use it at the french markets though!

No, take some currency and use the debit card if you have to draw any cash, keep that to a min if you can.Holidaying on abudget can be more fun than blowing loads and having to sort it all out when you return.

Banned

I think the latters more fun

Yeah credit card... dont withdraw cash.. cause sometimes and I MEAN SOMETIMES... they have this little clause which says, all previous debts have to be cleared before cash withdrawls are cleared...