Need a car for 3 weeks

Found 11th Dec 2017
I'm new to the world of car leasing and I am expecting my new car to arrive in the next few weeks.

The problem is that whilst I don't have a car I still need to get to work. Bummer, I know...

What do people do when in between leases and so on?
I looked at standard car hire but it will cost at least £200 which is not great just before Christmas.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Community Updates
Ask
27 Comments
How far is work ?
Do you have co-workers that drive and live near by (ish)
Edited by: "mattsk" 11th Dec 2017
Unfortunately not. And I leave before 6am so can't really ask anyone for a lift.
See if the supplying dealer can help?
Standard is about 14-16 quid a day, I think that’s about the cheapest rate. Just do Monday-Friday to keep costs down. Your problem will be by trying to keep it cheap you may get stung for excess on a Random scratch so check it over very thoroughly
Buy a clonker for £200, with mot. Then sell it or scrap it when you get your new car. Check out Facebook selling pages where people sell cars cheap that dealers don't want.
juniper2 h, 21 m ago

See if the supplying dealer can help?

It's from a broker so I have no contact with the dealer unfortunately. Thanks
Difficult one. Welcome to car leasing. Probably the next mis-selling scandal.

You say £200 now is not good news now. That doesn't bode well for the typically multi £x,000 payment at the end of the lease.

Of course the final payment can always be wrapped up into a new lease - to paraphrase the PLP lenders.

Are you by any chance also wondering about the PLP cooling off period and whether this doubtless very attractive offer from the scumbag loan shark industry is actually a sensible financial move?
Jog
Have all the bus and train routes locally been cut?
You could buy a motorbike.
Eurocar are expensive with these hidden charges i heard but a car costs £80 a week.