Need advice on laptop to monitor connections

Posted 27th Dec 2019
Hope you can advise. got a new work laptop and it only has
HDMI,
USB and
USB C ports.

Need to connect it to my large external Samsung monitor which unfortunately only has:

VGA,
DVI and
Display Port
😣

I'd like to get the best quality of picture, so would rather stay away from VGA adapters, but I'm not knowledgeable enough on other ports. What would you get to best connect the two? Cable? Adapter? Docking station? Port replicator?

Thank you for any advice or links

Regards
Gee
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

10 Comments
Get a HDMI to Display Port cable or adapter. I work in IT and that’s what we use for over 300 PCs. They’re about £10 on amazon
Edited by: "AdventureDeals" 27th Dec 2019
It looks like DisplayPort to HDMI is a cheap passive adapter, but going from HDMI to DP requires an active adapter.

HDMI to DVI is simple, passive, and bidirectional, but will require an additional connection for audio as DVI does not interpret the audio signal.
AdventureDeals27/12/2019 20:16

Get a HDMI to Display Port cable or adapter. I work in IT and that’s what w …Get a HDMI to Display Port cable or adapter. I work in IT and that’s what we use for over 300 PCs. They’re about £10 on amazon

Thank you very much, that's great. I looked on Amazon, eBay and ebuyer and found few, but prices start from £20 for my direction (hdmi ---> display port). If you happen to know the cable you are using in office, would you mind sending me a name or a link please?

Thanks
misslady28/12/2019 01:42

Thank you very much, that's great. I looked on Amazon, eBay and ebuyer …Thank you very much, that's great. I looked on Amazon, eBay and ebuyer and found few, but prices start from £20 for my direction (hdmi ---> display port). If you happen to know the cable you are using in office, would you mind sending me a name or a link please?Thanks