Need help on home contents insurance

Found 14th Jan 2011
Just need a bit of help with home contents insurance.

Got quite a lot of expensive stuff in my crib and would like to know which one would be best for me and why?

Most of the stuff is electrical, for example: TV, game consoles and laptops.

I want insurance on everything like damages and theft.

I'm a newbie to this, so please explain like if I was a 12 year old when submitting.

Thanks.

16 Comments

Use the price comparison sites, find the best deal, then

Buy through one of cashback schemes, some pay out quite hefty amounts

PM if you want links
Edited by: "wbmkk" 14th Jan 2011

Banned

If you´re 12 your parents should be paying.
Edited by: "toshapetriji" 14th Jan 2011

also if your unsure about what type of lock you have... dont lie or guess, youll save at most 10% but it will cost you your claim if you dont have the specified type of lock you have put down

most insurance companies will let you add high end items, like collectables, high value computers, it will cost more but worth it if something happens.
dont set your excess to high or by the time you've paid that you wont have much left to replace the item, most companies offer old for new,
they will want to know the exact types of locks, alarms and window locks,
dont jump for the first quote i always get around 8 and then compare them, some people like the comparison sites i dont

They usually ask how much contents cover you want, thats when you state 10, 20 30, 40K or whatever is relevant. Also you usually have to declare high value items, with my ins co, its anything over the value of 3k has to be named on the policy, so for me there is the wifes jewellery, a few antiques and my hi fi kit.

Original Poster

max. £20k contents

mostly electricals.

Insurance because not long ago bought a expensive TV and only got 12 months warranty, I want to make sure I'm covered when it runs out and breaks, is this the right way?

Original Poster

jackvdbuk