Need helping with putting on outdoor lighting

13 replies
Found 19th Dec 2016
So I've bought 3 lights from ebay to put outdoors for decoration but I'm not sure if I need to use an adapter of some sort or a Transformer as I don't want to blow any fuses at home. The voltage on each set of lights shows as 240v. Any advice?

It's this set of lights that I got.
m.ebay.co.uk/itm…ERS

13 Comments

Did they come with a standard 3 pin plug on them? 240v is the standard domestic voltage you get at home so you should be fine as long as they stay dry.

Original Poster

wolfee

Did they come with a standard 3 pin plug on them? 240v is the standard … Did they come with a standard 3 pin plug on them? 240v is the standard domestic voltage you get at home so you should be fine as long as they stay dry.

Yeah they did but I bought 3 of those so am wondering if it's safe to plug into an extension cord or not?

I'm no electrician but the 240v is suitable for UK Mains, if your worried about blowing a fuse/your circuit plug them into an RCD which is safer with them being outside anyway. LED's tend to be low wattage and it's your total wattage going into the plug socket/ ring circuit that's most important I believe but someone may correct me.

The plug should remain dry

going by listing the lights are ok outside but the controller box isn't and the plug wont be unless you have one of those weatherproof sockets

Plug them in indoors run the cable out thru a window. Mine are thin enough to be shut in the window, I also take the trickle vents off sometimes
Edited by: "Rich44" 19th Dec 2016

Original Poster

Rich44

Plug them in indoors run the cable out thru a window. Mine are thin … Plug them in indoors run the cable out thru a window. Mine are thin enough to be shut in the window, I also take the trickle vents off sometimes

Yeah I was thinking of doing that through the windows

Original Poster

Rich44