Negotiating car deals / Haggling

Found 15th May
Ive been driving for a couple of years now, Id like to upgrade from my 1.1 206. Main use is a second car for work and clubs, I'm looking at a Fiesta eco, not 100% if 1 litre of something more punchier, but I'm guessing what ever i get is going to be a nipper ride than my current car. Any car tips for haggling ( cash buy) What can i ask for regarding discount, free fuel etc? Should i buy from Ford or another dealer. Ideally id like to stay below £8000 but, well see.
Community Updates
AskHome & Garden
16 Comments
Dealers nowadays offer incentives to take out their finance, such as deposit contributions, 'free' servicing etc, but make sure the interest rate is competitive or else this will cancel out any benefit. As they get a kickback from the finance company for selling finance, they're less bothered about cash sales than they used to be. But it doesn't hurt to ask.

Use sites such as parkers.co.uk to get a rough idea of the cars value.
Have a look at the prices on motorpoint.co.uk/veh…e=0

These are a car supermarket type business - they don't negotiate on price so generally their screen prices are very competitive. Even if you don't buy from these use their prices to get a decent deal elsewhere.

Basically do a lot of research - know what you want and then have a good look around. Leave your contact details with garages and walk away - if they're keen to sell they'll contact you. Don't worry about missing one particular car as there will always be another one you can find. No need to buy from a Ford dealer - but they are likely to have more stock than other dealers.

Are you looking to trade your existing car in - this is where the garage can make their money on the deal by offering you on the low side. If you can sell your car privately.
Guzzle28 m ago