Netflix USA

Posted 13th Jan
We have netflix through sky Q and this appear as an app on the sky Q box, which we can select and watch.

I have also downloaded the Netflix app on to my tablets.

I remember there were discussions about fooling netflix into thinking you are in the USA to get netflix US contents, which are better than the UK site.

Someone suggested that I need to get windscripe VPN. Will this work?

I have never used a VPN before and reading up on it, it seems to imply that once set up, the VPN automatically kicks in whenever you use your internet browser, mine is chrome. Is this right?

Also, are there any problems that I am not aware of when you use a VPN?
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

Top comments
mutley113/01/2020 16:39

how would i find out what is on there without having a VPN?

Google. Just tried it,there are lots of websites that list what's on
25 Comments
Where are you going to be watching Netflix mainly? If it's on the TV you would need to install the VPN on your router or purchase a router purely to run the VPN. I'm not 100% about this though

Only issue I have is the VPN requires me to change back to the UK if I wish to use iPlayer.

@Dannyrobbo could advise maybe, he helped me sort mine.
Edited by: "rogan1791" 13th Jan
both on the tv and on the tablets so the app on the tablet will be fine through the vpn but the sky q box won't work as it need to run off the sky router.

would any VPN work, and i just choose USA as a location, or do i need windscripe as already mentioned?

do you use online banking? would the bank reject the logon if the ISP is foreign? when we were in spain and we logged into yahoo for example, we got the spanish yahoo rather than the uk site.