Netgear N600 issues

Posted 16th Jun 2020
Hi Folks,
My wireless router (Netgear N600) seems to cut out continuously during the day. The internet connect although not the faster seems to work fine as when i plug in an Ethernet cable to the PoE box its connect straight away.
Any advice on a replacement or fix that i can do. I am a total rookie on tech so please be patient with your explanations. Thanks in advance
Community Updates
Ask
11 Comments
If I am reading your post right you are saying that the wi fi is cutting out throughout the day but that if you put a cable into the router connected to your computer everything is fine?

If so then something locally can be affecting your wi fi rather than the router being damaged.

Things that can affect wi fi.

1. Out of date or corrupted wifi driver on a PC / laptop. Download the latest one and install.

2. Two of the commonest devices to cause random drop-outs of wifi are microwave ovens and cordless digital landline phones. It could be yours but it could equally be those of a neighbours. Have a read of the below:

lifewire.com/wif…348

3. You could try changing your router from using 2.4Ghz to 5.0 Ghz.

4. Perhaps your wifi is using the same wifi channel number as a neighbour who has a more powerful router or all your neighbours are using the same wifi channel number. Change the wifi channel number to a different one.

For 3 and 4 you have to go into the router settings and change them there usually.
tawse5716/06/2020 18:41