Found 5th Mar
Just a quick question over the new law regarding mobiles whilst driving....

I was a professional driver for the last 20 years and know the law pretty well , including the fact that you can always get a ticket for "due care and attention" doing anything in a car , including legal things if a police officer deems you are not in control.of your vehicle..

For the record I am 100% behind the law having seen some of the aftereffects of accidents caused by them.

Have looked at the new law and its fairly straight forward, basically dont touch your mobile (which I dont anyhow as its totally hands free) but I have found a grey area that maybe the HDUK hive mind can give its opinions on.

So its still legal to touch your car stereo to change channels etc as long as your not distracted , but my car stereo connects via app to my phone which sits immediately above the stereo in a hands free bracket giving me a really simple way to swipe left or right to change channels tracks etc, so in this configuration would it be classed as a mobile phone hence illegal or would it be classed as part of the stereo hence legal.??

Not a biggy but using the buttons on the stereo is a bit fiddly whilst using the large phone screen does not distract at all.......

28 Comments

my guess its part of the stereo, so you dont handle the mobile. many cars/vans have steering wheel controls now to pick up incoming calls through the multi media unit.

bbc.co.uk/new…ing

The AA told Newsbeat if you are using your phone while it is secured in a cradle it may be slightly different.
That's because technically the device is not handheld.
"But if you are involved in a collision as a result you could be prosecuted for driving without due care and attention," they said.
"That carries an even greater penalty, particularly if you injure or kill somebody, in which case you would be prosecuted for causing death by dangerous driving."