Nike closes store tomorrow June 19th for Juneteenth

Expert (Beta)34
Posted 18th Jun
Nike are closing store across the UK tomorrow

3488892-UJsTn.jpg
Community Updates
Misc
Top comments
I agree with some of the comments. I do feel that some things are wrong.

We should stop insinuating that we have the same level of racism as the USA - we are a far more inclusive society. Our police forces do not operate or act in the frequent brutal ways the USA does.

All protests even if they are peaceful should NOT be happening during a global pandemic - this is irresponsible on public health grounds - I work as an Infection Control Manager for elderly care and it has been beyond tough - anything which could cause another spike in this awful virus should be stopped. There is scientific reasons mass gatherings are not allowed at the moment and no one should be allowed to have them. Protests could be done in other ways, or wait until it is safe to do them. No GOVT will criticise or condemn these protests as they would be seen as being against the BLM movement. I’m sorry but a strong stance should be taken to prevent a possible spike in infections. Health affects us all - wouldn’t it be awful I’d these mass gatherings cause a spike and more families have to grieve the loss of loved ones.

There is work to be done on a lot of areas of equality and inclusiveness. I happen to be a gay man with a disability, and I have faced countless numbers of times where I have been treated unjustly, from all communities - many of the LGBT have and this is Pride month, being gay is still punishable by death in At least 13 countries, illegal in 70 others -Pride marches have respected the need to postpone marches due to COVID-19, others who feel the need for EDI causes should do the same.
Interesting. My take on all this current situation is that you can't atone for or make good the wrongs of centuries in the space of a week, fortnight, month or even months.