Norfolk Broads 3 night trip from Stalham - any advice please?

Found 25th Mar 2015
Hi just booked our first boating trip on the Norfolk Broads! 3 nts end of May. We're a large group - 8 adults, one stroppy teenager, and we don't have any experience!! Just wondered if anyone has any advice based on previous experiences? We really don't know what to expect - but really looking forward to it!! Wondering about things like what to take with us, our route, places we should stop and see, recommendations for eating off the boat, practical advice, fuel charge (paid £120 fuel deposit - how does this work?!) Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated as we are total novices!! Thanks in advance....
Community Updates
Ask
8 Comments
mermaids slipper
I live in Stalham

There is a decent sized Tesco to stock up on essentials in the village, and also a good variety of take-aways [Indian/Chinese/Kebab] and a decent pub - The Swan on the high street. Take a trip along the broads to Wroxham - again another big village with lots of nice riverside eating places and shops. Depending on what the adults [and stroppy teenager] enjoy doing, there are plenty of walks/pubs along the way.

Depending on where you are from, it can be a bit chilly here on the East Coast, with the lovely cool breeze coming off the North sea, so I'd recommend bringing a couple of woollies just in case

As we are mostly a nature reserve you wont really find any cinemas/events etc unless you travel into Norwich, which by car is around 30 mins. There you have all the luxuries available of any major city. I'd recommend using the Sprowston park and ride to get into the city and avoid finding parking spaces.

The boat hire company [Richardsons?] should be able to help you with local events going on at the time that may be of interest.

If I remember correctly, the fuel deposit is used to fill the boat ready for your use on arrival. When you return, any unused fuel is credited back to you.