Note for vegetarians : New Doritos not suitable for vegetarians....

14
Found 2nd May 2009
Doritos : Flamin Cheeseball is not suitable for vegetarians,

Missing the usual line on the crisps...

ingredients says:
milk proteins made with animal rennet....

What is animal rennet?
Many cheeses contain animal rennet, which is an enzyme often made from the stomach of calves and lambs

on a plus note Walkers "Cajun Squirrel" crisps are suitable for vegetarians!
Community Updates
MiscDoritosVegetarian
14 Comments
Banned
lol thnx!
Rennet is a natural complex of enzymes produced in any mammalian stomach to digest the mother's milk, and often used in the production of cheese.

urrgh ....if this is correct it dont sound to nice
the sedge;5101750

Rennet is a natural complex of enzymes produced in any mammalian stomach … Rennet is a natural complex of enzymes produced in any mammalian stomach to digest the mother's milk, and often used in the production of cheese.urrgh ....if this is correct it dont sound to nice



Bleurgh! Lol
All crisps should be vegetarian dammit.
the sedge;5101750

Rennet is a natural complex of enzymes produced in any mammalian stomach … Rennet is a natural complex of enzymes produced in any mammalian stomach to digest the mother's milk, and often used in the production of cheese.urrgh ....if this is correct it dont sound to nice



It's also used to clarify red wine as well. Great stuff so it is.
Thanks mate :thumbsup:
I used to be veggie and so wouldnt eat stuff containing rennet. BUt now i conclude thats just being pedantic. The cow was killed for its meat, as consumers making use of as much of the cow as possible is just be responsible.

To all you veggies i bet you still wear leather shoes as synthectic are no good for your feet worn daily.
Not eating meat is a personal choice but not eating something becuase if has some obscure by product is silly IMO
DIVA1977;5101828

I used to be veggie and so wouldnt eat stuff containing rennet. BUt now i … I used to be veggie and so wouldnt eat stuff containing rennet. BUt now i conclude thats just being pedantic. The cow was killed for its meat, as consumers making use of as much of the cow as possible is just be responsible.To all you veggies i bet you still wear leather shoes as synthectic are no good for your feet worn daily. Not eating meat is a personal choice but not eating something becuase if has some obscure by product is silly IMO



Can also be a religious choice and it also depends on how the cow was killed.
hooray praise the lord
Met-Cast;5101862

Can also be a religious choice and it also depends on how the cow was … Can also be a religious choice and it also depends on how the cow was killed.



true but halal meat etc is different again, but still is personal choice if you choose to follow eveyr aspect of that religion.

Like some Christians are tee total some drink , down to personal interpretation of teh bible
DIVA1977;5101912

true but halal meat etc is different again, but still is personal choice … true but halal meat etc is different again, but still is personal choice if you choose to follow eveyr aspect of that religion.Like some Christians are tee total some drink , down to personal interpretation of teh bible



True
Thanks, I usually check before buying a new product, but will let my family know this.

Walkers cheese and onion didnt used to be suitable for veggies, but the meat flavours were! Its stupid! They changed those though
Walkers Cheddar Cheese was not last time I checked,as when they do the Branston Pickle & Cheese ones,they were not either.
not had either of those anyway, we do check new products (and old ones every now and then because sometimes they change the ingredients!) - dont just trust when they say suitable for vegetarians because sometimes what they consider suitable and vegetarians consider suitable are 2 different things!
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text

    Top Discussions