Oculus VR

Posted 2nd Nov
Can any gaming experts on here help.I was looking at buying someone an Oculus VR headset as a gift but baffled by the technology involved.
I was looking at the Oculus Quest 128GB
Does anyone know if the ones that need a gaming PC play better or are the both the same ie graphics and the like?
Thanks in advance.
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

7 Comments
Hi! I’m far from an expert, but I do know that the Oculus Quest is made to be a stand-alone system. It doesn’t wire into anything else. One of the things that has kept me from VR is the cost of the PC that would be needed to drive the headset, the Quest doesn’t need that PC. It’s entirely self contained. Because of it’s lack of space, there hasn’t been room to pack in a £1000 PC worth of tech into it, but a lot of reviews have said that it’s certainly good enough and that it could be the killer device for VR. The iPod of VR, if you will.
One final note, if your intended recipient does indeed have that beefy PC that could drive top-drawer VR, there is a kit coming out which will let them connect the Quest to that PC and have the PC do the heavy lifting. I’ll try to find some videos which explain a bit better...
This seems to be a pretty good explainer:
pedd03/11/2019 08:20