Unfortunately, this discussion is no longer valid
Expired

Oil Boiler lockout advice (removal of coil)

Posted 9th Mar
Hi everyone, hoping someone can help please. we get our boiler serviced every year and are fairly remote-the engineers have not had time to get to us so looking at myself in meantime and think I am on right track. full story we ran out of oil (stupid yes but alot going on), waited to get oil, got oil,left to settle,fired boiler but locked out, I bled boiler and got it going. worked for 5 days or so then locked out. after resetting it ran for 10 to 15 mins then locked. it's been like that over weekend and after not getting engineer I've opened up the fuel pump and cleaned what was in filter (minuscule and wasnt blocked), bled again and fired it up but this time it stayed on for around 1 hour then locked out. i now believe it is the coil as I believe these are prone to fail on danfoss units. I am no electrician so may have tested wrongly but I seem to get out of range when testing resistance of solenoid. multimeter appears to be working correctly by touching pins together. my takeaway from that is that the solenoid is broken and currently indicating a break in the coil (I'm presuming cold resets it and heat then expands and breaks it causing fuel to be cutoff). pictures attached. can any
one confirm my ramblings? my last problem is simply a case of how to remove it!..I think I can remove one half of the control box above it by pressing in and pulling to right but the coil seems to sit below part of the left hand portion. I'm unsure how to go about this and dont want to mess with anything. fairly mechanically minded so would love if someone could give me a pointer! thanks everyone.
3419917-KHI0c.jpg3419917-f4Pss.jpg3419917-EAS6f.jpg
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

16 Comments