Opting out from using company car?

Posted 8th Jan
Hi everyone, I’m after a bit of an advice as I have never done this before:
I basically have a company car and a fuel card. I very recently received a new contract from my employer with the option to opt out with a £5100 per annum (lunar pat) if I opt out, I will see £500 bet extra on my pay, while still keeping the fuel card with no tax as it is going to be used for business trips only with a tracker.
So I will have to buy my own car, and pay for my own insurance.
I am thinking to opt out as the maximum I will be paying for insurance is around £90 depending on the car, which leaves me with around £410 a month for the car, wear and tear etc....
anyone done this before? Is it worth opting out? Any watch outs?
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

26 Comments
Wouldn't you be taxed on the £500 extra on your pay?
sparx198108/01/2020 15:58

Wouldn't you be taxed on the £500 extra on your pay?

£500 is the net extra from the opt out and from the car tax that I wouldn’t be paying anymore. I have taken all deductions into consideration
Self-funding insurance may be prohibitive if there is a combination of no attainable transferable no-claims discount and the business environment is classed as high risk by the insurers.
How many miles do you do? What company car do you have? Was it new when you got it and how long do you have to keep it currently?
not at all sure about this.
any way of finding out what liability the employer has if you had an accident both in the opting out and opting in schemes?
I must be missing something here? How on earth would you get insurance for £90? Baring in mind it would need to be declared as "Business Use" insurance?

It's certainly an 'interesting' offer so I don't blame you in investigating it.
I know of colleagues who have done this (without the fuel card).