Oyster Card Issues (New to them!)

Found 11th Apr 2015
So, today, I went from
Orpington to Mortlake (with a transfer @ London Waterloo/East) - Return journey.

I put a deposit down for an Oyster Card at Orpington train station (£5) and topped the Oyster card up with £10.

At London Waterloo on the out-bound journey, I went to the tube & added (linked) my 16-25 railcard.
With a railcard, the journey (inc. return) via Oyster should come to a total of £4.90. Instead I was billed £7.40 (as if I had no railcard for the entire trip there and back).

I just went to register the card online to see what's happening - and it says my card number is already registered and to enter my security answer. But I only collected the card from the train station today.

I've never used Oyster before but what is happening? I would go into a station and ask but it's a 15 minute car journey, and they only want to give 1 or 2 word responses, unfortunately and even asking for an Oyster card was huffed & puffed at.

Any ideas guys?
Community Updates
AskCard
29 Comments
Best bet is to give them a call, even if you went to a station they can't make any adjustments. When you call them they can tell you exactly what's on your oyster card, discount wise, and adjust it and issue a refund for you
londonlad19

Best bet is to give them a call, even if you went to a station they can't … Best bet is to give them a call, even if you went to a station they can't make any adjustments. When you call them they can tell you exactly what's on your oyster card, discount wise, and adjust it and issue a refund for you

OK I will give them a call in the morning I didn't want to be like i'm asking a stupid question
I appreciate the railcard discount could not be taken into effect at Orpington (because train stations cannot link railcards) but I would have expected it to work for the rest of the journey.
londonlad19