Groups

Patio Cost

Hi
    has anyone had a patio laid this year? just looking for a very rough idea of cost e.g. £40 per square meter. Obviously i know its massively variable depending on a million things but i have literally no idea what a patio would cost.

in our case its probably around 15sq meters of flag patio plus.

Thanks

11 Comments

Hi your comment caught my attention. Thought I would give my opinion as I work in construction.

Employing a small building firm, they'd have to pay a decent guy £150 minimum (per day) to dig off the mud that's there or clear off any old slabs. That is if you want to keep everything at existing height. So £300 if 2 days work, before any company profit.

Then factor in £200 for an 8 yard skip for a dig off, or clear up.

If a machine needs to come in you have to pay for that. You might get a man and a very small digger in for the day for £250.

Probably £500 before you even started? Then for 15 metres are you looking at bare minimum £100 for Ministry of Transport (MOT) type one crushed hardcore. £50 to allow for wacker plate to put down the base. And rest of a 3rd day to mark it all out and sort out levels

£800 so far? Before the company made a profit or covered things like trucks or vans to get the guys to work. Then public liability and a little extra in the kitty to allow for any problems at a later date - or if they dig through a phone cable just under the ground

Ordinary slabs are about £6 each for 600mm x 600mm. Works out around £20 a metre just for the slabs. So £350 for slabs to allow for the odd broken one or cuts and £150 for sand and cement.

A one man band might fancy it at £1500 if he's quiet? In reality £2 grand at least and £4k if you want a nice job and decent slab/pointing inbetween them.

You could maybe knock a couple of hundred quid off a higher quote if you can labour yourself

Hope this was helpful. I am in Essex

Edited by: "hot_sauce73" 21st Oct 2016