Expired

Paying to much tax?

Found 16th Apr 2015
Am I paying the correct amount of tax? This is my first payslip for this financial year, I have never worked employed before, but from my Gross income of 1932.89, I have the following deductions: Tax: 223.20; NI 157.55; Start up Pens: 11.87
Community Updates
Ask
38 Comments
CristianC89

Am I paying the correct amount of tax?

Jesus wept.
no - you should pay more

so should we all if we want the service levels we desire !

EliTom
No, you need to pay more.
sorry guys, I wanted to upload my payslip, but didn't work, I will edit it now
yes your income tax is bang on correct

EliTom
http://s10.postimg.org/k4bhdieqd/Payslip_001_Copy.jpg
Edited by: "CristianC89" 16th Apr 2015
I'm afraid that looks about right
Monthly salary multiplied by twelve, less £10k ish tax free.
Balance at 20%.
Should be there or thereabouts and assumes your tax code is something like 1060L.
Edited by: "willhay555" 16th Apr 2015
Tax code should be correct: 1060L but I don't know what CUM stands for.
NI is what percentage from what? Gross income of after tax free?
Btw, I am paid 4 weekly, not monthly
CristianC89

Btw, I am paid 4 weekly, not monthly

exactly - that was my calc - you are 30p short - i.e. you owe 30p

EliTom
NI is calculated on gross earnings.
HMRC has a useful app to tell you what ddt' to expect.
Google listen to the tax man and put the figures in. Then it'll tell you how much a month and year etc
So NI is 8% from my Gross Income?
I used the HMRC app and listen to the tax man website, but the problem is I don't earn this income all the time. My contract is 39 hours per week at 7.27 rate. This month I had overtime, plus one week paid holiday and etc.
NI is paid at 12% over and above £620 per 4 week period, i.e. you earn £1000, you have £620 NI free, so you pay 12% on the difference of £380, which is 45.60