Found 9th Jun 2010
Hi, I'm just putting a fresh installation of windows onto my desktop pc & whilst going through the options etc it said that any files currently on there will be moved into a folder named windows.old. That I would still have access to them but not the old windows installation(which I knew)
Now once the installation is complete is there anyway i can get hold of these files & erase them? They're mainly photos of the children so really want them off of it & didn't realise the fresh installation wouldn't erase them
Thanks for any help...

1. Misc
  2. PC
Groups
  1. Misc
  2. PC
19 Comments

Yes the folder will be in the root of your C: drive

Original Poster

danmc;8800760

Yes the folder will be in the root of your C: drive

:? Can you explain that in simple terms, lol. I'm not very technical minded.:oops:

Sounds like you ticked a wrong option somewhere. A totally fresh installation would format the disk and definitely wipe everything. The "old windows" files it refers to won't be your photos though, just windows files that you won't need to worry about and any photos will be where you left them.

Might be worth starting again and check the options as it begins....

Original Poster

tallpete33;8800782

Sounds like you ticked a wrong option somewhere. A totally fresh … Sounds like you ticked a wrong option somewhere. A totally fresh installation would format the disk and definitely wipe everything. The "old windows" files it refers to won't be your photos though, just windows files that you won't need to worry about and any photos will be where you left them. Might be worth starting again and check the options as it begins....

Hhhmm I'll try again once it finishes then. That was what I thought. Although there wasn't really any other options it was pretty straightforward to follow...or so I thought! :oops:

Original Poster

dontasciime;8800959