PC that will mount to the back of a monitor?

Found 22nd Feb 2016
I am a bit of a novice when it comes to building PC's so I would greatly appreciate some advice. I would like to know whether it is possible to build a PC that is reasonably powered (i.e. 'proper CPU') that will fit in a HTPC case and mount to the back of a monitor for a reasonable price. This is the kind of thing I am looking for:

hothardware.com/art…jpg

Is it possible to use standard components in these PC's and therefore have it perform as well as a full sized counterpart. I like the idea of having a all in one like PC that can be upgraded as and when needed.

Thanks in advance?

1. Ask
  2. Monitor
  3. PC
12 Comments

What do you define as a proper CPU? and what do you want to use it for?
You wont get a decent GPU in a tiny package like that and a decent CPU might be out of the question due to cooling

Original Poster

jimhuf

What do you define as a proper CPU? and what do you want to use it … What do you define as a proper CPU? and what do you want to use it for?You wont get a decent GPU in a tiny package like that and a decent CPU might be out of the question due to cooling

Thanks for replying, I mean I would like a CPU that is designed for a desktop PC and not something like an Intel Atom processor that is often found on tablets etc. I would mainly be using it for general browsing, emails, YouTube but would also like it to handle a bit of light to medium gaming. Perhaps something like an AMD A10 APU would be suitable with stock cooling?

Also, if that chassis is too small, can slightly larger ones still be mounted to the back of a monitor?

chris75319