PC World - wrongly priced item, Manager wouldn't honour it :-(

Found 5th Oct 2008
Hi everybody,

Furst time poster, long time lurker here... hopefully someone can advise me on my consumer rights?

I was in PC World this afternoon, and was vacantly browsing through the DVD set-top recorders when I spotted a Philps DVDR3570H (I *think* that was the model), but it was a DVD recorder with a 160Gb. Hard Drive.
As usual with PC World there was no prices marked on the shelves, and I picked up the box and was absolutely floored when I saw the printed price sticker of £49.99 on it! I'm no expert, but I knew this was a bloody good price for a branded DVD recorder, never mind the added bonus of the 160Gb. Hard Drive.

I made my way down to the checkout where it scanned at £99.99.... GGGRRRR. I pointed out the price label to the cashier, and he called over 'Stephen' who I assume was the manager / supervisor, who point-blank refused to honour the price. He hinted that someone had moved the cheaper label onto the box, which made me pretty bloody angry. I pointed out that the price label was partially *under* the electronic security sticker thing, and that it was his staff's incometence which was to blame for it being mis-priced.
Anyway, he was abrupt and rude, and said "Either buy it at £99.99 or not at all - your choice", so I left it at the checkout and walked out in a f**king bad mood.

So what are my rights? If I had bought it at £99.99, and then complained to some government agency under the Sale of Goods Act or something, would I have got the diffrence refunded?
I see it's on their website at £99.99
[link]pcworld.co.uk/mar…jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@0795083803.1223232817@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccccadefgekfdgicflgceggdhhmdgmi.0&page=Product&sku=105237&calling_page=Product[/link]