PC/MAC On a budget

Found 11th Jul
Hi All

I have around £300 to spend on a PC or Mac mini but don’t know what to buy.

It will be used as a family PC mainly to browse multiple open tabs and watch live sport streams. I would also like it to be able to handle 4K playback.

Would an i5 Mac Mini 2012 still be ok in 2018? Or am I better going for a Windows with a newer processor?

I have no experience in building PCs so ideally I’d like one that’s pre built.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks
Community Updates
AskPC
17 Comments
get some hackintosh. it will be cheaper then genuine mac. if dont like mac os then u can change to windows.
You would get more bang for buck getting a Windows PC
Used Ex-Corp Dell Optiplex 790 SFF from ebay.

Fast and very reliable. Can easily be hackintoshed at a later date if you decide you want a Mac
100% Windows
crazydealhunter3 h, 8 m ago

get some hackintosh. it will be cheaper then genuine mac. if dont like mac …get some hackintosh. it will be cheaper then genuine mac. if dont like mac os then u can change to windows.

Thanks

I found a 2012 Mac mini with 8gb ram and 128ssd and 1tb hard driver for £320 is a hackintosh cheaper than that and do they come ore built?
Beats8512 m ago

Thanks I found a 2012 Mac mini with 8gb ram and 128ssd and 1tb hard driver …Thanks I found a 2012 Mac mini with 8gb ram and 128ssd and 1tb hard driver for £320 is a hackintosh cheaper than that and do they come ore built?

usually hackintosh from ebay comes prebuild. probably not 100% working like genuine mac but its major things are working. i think +- £200 u can get a good hackintosh.
Uridium2 h, 21 m ago

Used Ex-Corp Dell Optiplex 790 SFF from ebay.Fast and very reliable. Can …Used Ex-Corp Dell Optiplex 790 SFF from ebay.Fast and very reliable. Can easily be hackintoshed at a later date if you decide you want a Mac