Phone Insurance Query

Found 6th Jun
I have recently lost my phone and made a claim to my insurance company. They have been in touch to say,

"Our initial enquiries show that the device was offered for sale on 3/6/18 at 19:57 pm."

Does anyone know where/how they would get this information using just the IMEI?

The police are involved and said it would be a great help if we can find where the phone has been put up for sale. I've checked ebay, gumtree and facebook in my area but no joy as yet.

Thanks!
Community Updates
Ask
Top comments
To me it reads "we think you sold it so we aren't paying out"
31 Comments
I'm not an expert because I don't own a phone worth stealing but surely if the insurance company have this information, they Can tell you.
psychobitchfromhell36 m ago

I'm not an expert because I don't own a phone worth stealing but surely if …I'm not an expert because I don't own a phone worth stealing but surely if the insurance company have this information, they Can tell you.

I'm hoping so, just wondering if anyone knew how they checked it to save me waiting for a reply from them.
Just out of interest, if someone found your lost phone and tried to sell it. How doest that effect your claim?. Surely that's out of your control.
deleted1597344
If they know it’s been sold / or tried to be sold it’s because it’s more than likely the shop will have run checks on it to see if it’s stolen etc. The insurance company should be able to tell you which shop did this.
TradeWest576th Jun

I'm hoping so, just wondering if anyone knew how they checked it to save …I'm hoping so, just wondering if anyone knew how they checked it to save me waiting for a reply from them.

I would have though its at CEX or somewhere like that and they have to register the IMEI. If so they are handling stolen goods and hopefully you will get it back.