Power point for separate electric hob and oven

Posted 16th JanEdited by:"mutley1"
I currently have a free standing electric cooker in the kitchen (9.9 Kw), which is hard wired. I am looking to replace this with a separate electric hob and under the counter electric oven.

Can someone advise me if the power point needs to be changed for the new appliances as there will be 2 instead of one? And if so, what exactly needs changing?

I won't be doing the work myself and will be employing an electrician, but before I get a quote, I would like to understand what needs to be done so I can speak to the electrician with some knowledge.
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

16 Comments
The power point at a minimum needs changed to a dual appliance point, however without knowing the oven and hob you are installing it’s difficult to say if that would be sufficient. I’m not an electrician btw just offering a little advice.

Couple more things to consider - total load when oven and all rings are on, and the manual for both appliances some say to install them with their own supply so not doing so may invalidate any warranty etc.
Edited by: "AndrewRoss" 16th Jan
AndrewRoss16/01/2020 13:28

The power point at a minimum needs changed to a dual appliance point, …The power point at a minimum needs changed to a dual appliance point, however without knowing the oven and hob you are installing it’s difficult to say if that would be sufficient. I’m not an electrician btw just offering a little advice.Couple more things to consider - total load when oven and all rings are on, and the manual for both appliances some say to install them with their own supply so not doing so may invalidate any warranty etc.