Presentation for an Interview

Posted 6th Aug 2020Edited by:"Z4H33R"
Hi all,

So i have applied for a pharmacy assistant job and managed to secure an interview which is on Tuesday 11th Aug. Now I have been asked to prepare a presentation on the actual job role. I have delivered presentation before in interviews but usually they tell you the subject i.e. a thought process behind something, or how would you go about introducing a new service. However, with this one all I have been asked is prepare a presentation on pharmcy assistant. I have never come across such request. What is it that they might want to see or me talk about in the presentation. I.e. how the job fits within the organisation, how I would carry out the duty (talk about my experience and skills that I would bring into this job)

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
Community Updates
Ask
12 Comments
Hmm this is odd. I'm an apprentice pharmacy advisor never had to do a slideshow for the interview
Contact potential employer and ask if you can shadow a pharmacy assistant for a couple of hours. Gets your foot in the door, you’ll meet some of the team and you’ll find out about the role.
You have time... contact the HR dept and ask for the specific subject matter of the presentation.

I hate that they ask for a presentation in these interviews now. It is entirely irrelevant to the role, I think it just filters out the time wasters, but provides no benefit to the role. It's not like you'll be giving patients a bloody slide show is it!
Edited by: "spongebob1913" 6th Aug
Good luck is all I’ve got to add
First of all many gratz on getting the I/V.

Obvs, they are not interested in your presentation skills!

Asking for a presentation is just a technique to establish how much your application matches the person they see before them. Remember, for all they know you might have got someone else to complete the application.