Purchasing MS Office

Found 9th Mar 2011
i need to purchase MS Office for my sister who recently purchased a new laptop. anyone have any idea where is the cheapest place i can purchase MS Office. and as she is a student can i get a discount??

18 Comments

what about open office.org,its free & works with MSO.

The cheapest I can see for Microsoft professional Plus is £38.95 from software4students software4students.co.uk/Mic…spx.

It may be worth considering open office or something similar which is free.

available for free from all the usual outlets :P

Hi i've pm'd you

I'm a student with Open Uni and use Open Office and have had no complaints about any of the formatting etc. As mentioned, Open Office is free.

if you work for the nhs I think you get a discount , if you work for bt (or know someone who does) it can be very cheap

I can't believe people are recommending Open Office. It's terrible. It's just so badly written, so buggy, and so cheap and nasty that it's unreal. I have tried using it a few times since I like the idea of free software, and each time it manages to amaze me with the sheer variety of bugs that it offers. How low do your standards have to be to think it's even usable?

dxx

I can't believe people are recommending Open Office. It's terrible. It's … I can't believe people are recommending Open Office. It's terrible. It's just so badly written, so buggy, and so cheap and nasty that it's unreal. I have tried using it a few times since I like the idea of free software, and each time it manages to amaze me with the sheer variety of bugs that it offers. How low do your standards have to be to think it's even usable?

it is usable, in fact very usable, I've not had any problems with it at all, the kids use if for school work etc & works fine with opening up Microsoft programs in it. I guess your computer is crap !

richp