Question about Kodi...?

Found 8th Feb 2016
Hi, Complete newbie on the Kodi front.
Couple of questions.....

I have a Samsung smart TV, do i still need to buy an external box or is it something that can be added on to this?
What channels can i get? (would love Skysports)
What is the picture quality like? Is it the same as the streams i watch on my PC?
I don't have fibre optic broadband, just the normal old one down the phone line. I just done a speed test and i download at 3.4Mb/s... is this a deal breaker?

Thanks

1. Ask
  2. Kodi
Groups
  1. Ask
  2. Kodi
10 Comments

You will need some sort of device such as a firestick, raspberry pi or even your laptop conected. You can pick up nearly any channel you want if you know where look for it sky sports can be found with ease, picture quality again will depend where you look for it, i dont have fibre either and i manage just fine.

You can download kodi onto your PC/Laptop, see if you can stream on that device first . If your planning to connect via wifi with your current download speed - forget it. As for watching sports, via kodi streams, be aware the quality can be unwatchable and the buffering so great that you're many minutes behind real time. What kodi is very good for is accessing the catch up services, which is legal and of generally excellent quality. If your a film buff you'll think you're in heaven - but that's illegal and one day you might end up in jail.
Edited by: "Dumbstruck" 8th Feb 2016

proper dodgy

Kodi needs a good stable internet connection like fibre
When im at work i watch skysports on my phone on 3g/4g with a probram called mobdro
I also have both on my tablet and use a link cable to connect to my tv

OP'
You don't need fibre broadband to get kodi' although a good broadband speed is always better as you are simply streaming content from the internet!
You can't add kodi onto your tv - that's a no go currently.