Questions for those who build PCs

Found 31st Dec 2017
I've been building PCs for over two decades, but only one every 2-5 years on average, although recently it's been more like one every year or two. I'm about finished with a new build right now, but I've run into a little dilemma.

Usually there are a bunch of I/O cables/connectors (those fiddly little things) that run from the case to the MB, and I'm used to seeing a bunch of them, but this time there are only 6 pins in total to connect. I see no "power reset" but there is "power SW" and power LED/HDD LED and a couple of others. I guess newer cases no longer bother with "power reset"??

My other question is, how long does it take you to assemble a PC?

Despite having built multiple PCs I always forget the finer points, and have to ask or look at a guide to remind myself. I've been following this one, and it says that about 2hrs is the time it should take:
howtogeek.com/how…er/

I can't see how that is possible for most people who don't do it for a living. I do like to take my time and make sure I get it right so it's taken me about 8/9hrs to get to this stage (last few connections to make). I guess I could get it down to about 4 hrs if I really rushed through it, but every build is unique, so different solutions are required which may need a little fiddling/experimentation, and that takes time.

Getting the cables right often means trying one way and if it doesn't work very well (or is messy) then that usually means disconnecting most (if not all) cables and starting all over. I guess if you are not that bothered with less than ideal airflow due to messy cables then it would go a lot faster!

1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
20 Comments

New cases have minimalistic designs mostly and they do, yes have less connectors. Also it takes me around 2 hours to cable manage and build a new pc.