recommendation for good quality colouring pencils please?

Found 14th Nov 2015
My OH has asked for an adult colouring book for Christmas so I'm looking for some decent pencils to go with it as this will be her first foray into adult colouring!
I've looked at various sets on Amazon and have decided I would like to get a set of at least 36 preferably in a nice tin! I've looked at some of the highest reviewed ones but when you look at the negatives of these, people mention that they are not very good for blending/not soft enough etc. - a lot of the higher reviews seem to be by people that have bought them for children.

Can anyone recommend me some brands to look into please... not looking to break the bank on pencils but think that upto £30-35 should get something reasonably good for an amateur???

Any advice much appreciated.

1. Ask
  2. Pencil
Groups
  1. Ask
  2. Pencil
8 Comments

im a colouring pencil portrait artist for a living, My personal favourite is Prismacolor pencils. they are quite pricey and take some getting used to as they are waxy almost. I would suggest some faber castells. they are much sorter and easier to blend but still high in pigment. dependant on how serious they want to take it amazon have their mid range at half price at the minute, could still probably get a good set of the polychromos, their best range for that budget though.
There are other good makes put there but can be more chunky and hard to keep a fine tip on, from what ive seen of these adult colouring books, its tons of tiny tiny details so they could be a bit of a nightmare lol

Also, id really suggest a double sharpener by the same make, it almost opens in half. about £3 normally. stops the soft leads splitting and fracturing meaning that last a lot longer

Edited by: "BudgetAngel" 14th Nov 2015

There are some caran d'ache ones on here if they are any good