red diesel used in vehicle

Found 18th Jan 2016
hi there
i need some advice girls and guys!!

i want to buy a car of my friend which i want to use as my own taxi private hire.
the problem is my friend has been using red diesel in it,he told me today and the tank still has red diesel in it,

my main concern is im a new taxi driver this will be my first car in taxi,
so if i take it for council mot will they know if red diesel is been used in vehicle?
i dont want to get into bother for it,as i dont want trouble before starting my new job,

any advice please appreciated,
Community Updates
AskDiesel
18 Comments
replacement tank from a scrap yard is probably your best bet. or buy another car.
thx for your reply,

do you think the council mot will know if red diesel is being used in the vehicle?
Use the fuel up or drain it out, fill full tank with white and should be OK, ish
Have proof of purchase and if get stopped deny knowledge of tank and say just bought it as is
Edited by: "mrwhitelabel" 18th Jan 2016
thx for reply

i need to take the car for a council taxi mot,will they find out while they doing the mot?that red diesel is been used,

i dont want my friend to get into trouble either lol as he owes me money and hes giving me the car as payment!!
msaf1

thx for your reply,do you think the council mot will know if red diesel … thx for your reply,do you think the council mot will know if red diesel is being used in the vehicle?

They will know if they dip your tank, That isn't normal practice and think it's only Vosa who do random checks, It's certainly not part of the MOT and your emissions would be no different.

To get rid of the dye you'd also have to change the fuel filter as that would be stained too.

shauneco