Redundancy notice and payment

Posted 16th Jan
I wondering if any HR experts can help. If a company gives notice you are being made redundant and you go out and find another job, are you still entitled to redundancy payment?
Community Updates
Ask
25 Comments
yea of course, they cant expect you to just not have something lined up, its their decision and would have factored in the redundancy when they decided that course of action.
Yes unless the new job is also with company who made you redundant from your current role. You must also stay in your current job until the redundancy notice period is over to give your current employer chance to offer you an alternative role. If you refuse the alternative role, you will not be entitled to redundancy pay
I'm not an expert but it will depend on if you are still working and on gardening leave (employed and paid like a normal employee of the company) in which case it would be classed as a second job. Or if you are having your notice period paid as PILON (payment in lieu of notice) in which case, once you are paid off you are unemployed and can do as you wish.

Some companies, if you are definitely being made redundant, will not stop you from taking another job, others may possibly be awkward, especially if there is a handover to be done etc.

Prob better for an expert to answer this though, best of luck
When I was made redundant I found a new job, however I couldn’t leave until my redundancy date or I’d lose my payment, as they wanted us to work til the last day so instead of changing my dates I’d have to quit. So yes you can get a new job, but you’d need to discuss how your last date would work. You need to speak to your actual workplace who have the terms of your employment/redundancy, and the ability to change it. Remember they’re not going to be annoyed you have a new job so there doesn’t need to be a secret about it.
Edited by: "choccie32" 16th Jan
Jeeseymoose16/01/2020 17:32