Groups

Reference material for KS1 teaching at home?

I know there is a slight possibility that I could get beaten up by some of you for asking this here, but I think the benefits probably outweigh the beating.

I plan to teach my twins (who are now in Year 2) English and Maths in addition to what they are learning at school.

Are there any parents/teachers/knowledgeable members who would recommend any worksheets or other methods of teaching them?

Thank you.

14 Comments

I work in a school and we use twinkle and phonics play alot. And you can get a lot of work sheets from abacus books.
    Edited by: "lynsaydyson" 4th Nov 2016

Not sure why anyone would have an issue with you doing the best for your kids...

We do basic maths with a pen and paper, but found that a pack of magnetic numbers was a really useful tool too.

Original Poster

lynsaydyson

I work in a school and we use twinkle and phonics play alot. And you can … I work in a school and we use twinkle and phonics play alot. And you can get a lot of work sheets from abacus books.

Thank you lynsaydyson.
    Can you kindly provide some links? I can google but there are so many similar named websites, its slightly confusing. Any worksheets / reference books I should invest in?

Original Poster

Mermoo

Not sure why anyone would have an issue with you doing the best for your … Not sure why anyone would have an issue with you doing the best for your kids...We do basic maths with a pen and paper, but found that a pack of magnetic numbers was a really useful tool too.

I have experienced a lot of people being shot down on this site, so the fear.

I bought a magnetic board and some magnets recently. Definitely useful. Thank you Mermoo.

Original Poster

lynsaydyson

http://m.twinkl.co.ukhttp://www.pearsonschoolsandfecolleges.co.uk/Primary/Mathematics/AllMathematicsresources/Abacus/Abacus.aspx...

Thank you. Much appreciate your help.

Original Poster

lynsaydyson

Www.phonicplay.co.uk is very good also