Groups

Returning to work

I am looking to return to office work after almost 17 years away. Previously I worked in accounts - sales, purchase, nominal ledger etc and would be keen to go back to that. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what refresher courses I could go on to bring me back up to speed? I notice that SAGE and SAP seem to be popular in the workplace and I have looked into some Pitman courses but I don't want to waste time doing something that will not be relevant. I am quite computer literate and I have recently completed a degree (not related to accounts in any way). Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Gloria

14 Comments

hi i work as a receptionist for 5 different companies, but all the accounts depts use SAGE so that might be a course for you to look into

Hey

I work in accounts and SAGE is very popular (although my workplace don't use it) If I decide to look for another job I think I would try to complete a short SAGE course just for the experiance. Try asking at your local college, mine do a course for SAGE although I don't know the length or cost.

ooh wasnt you ..sorry i have beer goggles on xxx

Original Poster

Oops, sorry for typo - it's getting late.

I have been told by a couple of employment agencies that "due to the current job market, competition for jobs is fierce" I am interpreting that as - I have no chance because I am over the hill.

Will look into SAGE courses.

gloria1997;5460300

Oops, sorry for typo - it's getting late. I have been told by a couple of … Oops, sorry for typo - it's getting late. I have been told by a couple of employment agencies that "due to the current job market, competition for jobs is fierce" I am interpreting that as - I have no chance because I am over the hill.Will look into SAGE courses.