Rewiring a light switch - am I doing it wrong?

Found 19th Feb
I am rewiring a light switch as the previous touch sensor switch sensorhas stopped working. It is wired up with 3 brown wires, one going into a “L1” terminal and 2 going into a “L” terminal. On my new switch I just have 3 terminals - L1, L2 and Common. This is going to be a one way switch. Do the two brown wires in the existing L terminal go into Common....? This is my first time so appreciate your help!2896716-r5K8t.jpg2896716-5Pqzl.jpg
Community Updates
Ask
Top comments
ccnp44 m ago

Well this post is your home insurance invalidated in the event it catches …Well this post is your home insurance invalidated in the event it catches fire.Never quite sure why people think its OK to muck about with electrics. Electricians are expensive but ...................... evidently you don't mind the risk of giving your wife or kids a mild tickle (if you have MCBs/RCDs) or an outright shock (if its an old fuse board)Suggest you use an electrician. Or call the manufacturers tech support number in the paperwork that doubtless came with the pack.

This is a really misinformed comment it’s perfectly legal to change existing switches and fittings as part of the regulations it’s deemed minor work and is pretty much the only task you are allowed to carry out without certification.
16 Comments
Well this post is your home insurance invalidated in the event it catches fire.

Never quite sure why people think its OK to muck about with electrics. Electricians are expensive but ...................... evidently you don't mind the risk of giving your wife or kids a mild tickle (if you have MCBs/RCDs) or an outright shock (if its an old fuse board)

Suggest you use an electrician. Or call the manufacturers tech support number in the paperwork that doubtless came with the pack.
It’s just a one way switch no upstairs downstairs arrangement? You would only need to use the L1 and common ignore L2