Router spec help.

Found 5th Jan
I'm a complete noob to this subject. I've only ever used a router supplied by my internet provider.

I'm just starting to get my head around different aspects of a router so bare with me. X)

I'm currently looking at purchasing a router where I can install a vpn at the router instead of at each connected device.

I currently have BT infinity 1 52mb. With a download speed of around 48mb. Upload speed of 9mb.

Current router is a BT smart hub. Usage is mainly (4k tv streaming services, Sky Q, 2 x fire tv stick 1st gen running Kodi (mainly only watching TV and movies no live streaming). 2 x phones used mainly for Internet browsing. Kids fire tablet streaming tv shows ect.

I want something that will make use of the Internet I'm receiving and nothing that's just overkill or has features I won't use so I want to keep cost to a minimum.

Any advice or recommendations are appreciated.

Community Updates
BT Home Hub 6 does what your want. Check if you have a 5 or 6. 6 has infinitely better wifi as well
Original Poster
ccnp48 m ago

BT Home Hub 6 does what your want. Check if you have a 5 or 6. 6 has …BT Home Hub 6 does what your want. Check if you have a 5 or 6. 6 has infinitely better wifi as well

​I have a BT Hub 6. I did think about using the hub to 'host' the vpn but couldn't find any information on how this is done.

Most comments online stated the bt hub can't support a vpn server. Is this the case?
This article…up/ suggests that the most critical element of a router for vpn use is the cpu perfmance in order to handle the encryption demands, and suggests the following potential cpu rating/speed....

600 Mhz = 8-10 Mpbs
800 Mhz = 15-25 Mbps
1.0 Ghz = 20-35 Mbps
1.4 Ghz = 25-45 Mbps