Samsung 40KU6400

Found 15th Sep 2017
Hi Guys, I'm quite the television moron and more into computers and whatnot but need some advice.

I recently ordered a Samsung 40KU6400 for £500 from John Lewis as it offered extended the extended warranty which is quite nice as my previous tv just died. Due to my lack of knowledge, I'm worrying that I may have just went for a brand here and not a good quality tv.

Can somebody maybe reassure me on it or alternatively offer guidance on another television for a similar price? Preferably around a similar cost.

Cheers guys.
Community Updates
Ask
5 Comments
Great make, had ours for around 2 years. I think we may have this one paid over £500 for it though... or a different model.

But Samsung is a great make. Sorry not much help. But I think you got your self a good deal
I have this exact TV on the wall in my kitchen and have no complaints with it whatsoever. This is a great TV IMO, but I'm no expert when it comes to TV's.
It's a decent mid-range TV. You could have got it for £400 last year, but you can't always get a deal if you're buying due to a failure.

I think they did eventually get All4 added to the 2016 range but there are still adverts in the SmartTV system.
Samsung is not a great make IMO, I speak from experience. The Samsungs we have are KS7000 and KU6400.

The backlight bleed is really bad, dark scenes aren't very good with it. I tried getting it sorted but they say it's not faulty, it's the technology. The viewing angle is also atrocious, one of the worst of seen from LCD/LED.

For the 1st year your warranty will lie with Samsung, they're based in the Philippines , they're useless

Our KU6400 also came with the wrong stand, so the thing just wobbled around. It took me 3 months to have an engineer come out.

My recommendation is send it back, this is based on my experience and the fact that I'll never buy a product from them again.