EXPIRED

Sewing machine

I want to attempt to make a pair of curtains and roman blind. I need to buy a sewing machine but don't want to pay to much.
Any ideas on what sewing to buy bearing in mind I have never used one before.
tia
Shared Via The HUKD App For Android.

11 Comments

I would buy a pretty basic model that only does a few different stitches, running, zigzag etc, some are capable of embroidery but I don't think you would ever use that option. When you get one spend a few hours getting to know it, how to thread it and the tensions of the cotton etc and how to change the bobbin and needles for different fabrics. I think a pair of curtains would be a good introduction as it's all straight stitching and adding the heading tape. The Roman blind I think is for an intermediate seamstress as you will have to insert rods and deal with the pulley lines.
Argos have a Brother sewing machine for £79.99 which has very good reviews and I think would be good as a first machine.

ikea do a basic machien for 45 quid. could be worth a punt.

Banned

I've seen loads up the local amenity site or try asking on freecycle

Lidl and Aldi have well rated ones fairly frequently. Keep a look out.
Also have a look in the deals section as some good deals pop up.

Pandora's upholstery is great for lining fabric.

If you change the type of thread then remember to change the needle (the thread makes an indent into the hole in the needle so when a different type of thread is introduced it can catch on the indent which breaks the thread which is such a pain!).

Check out eBay for fabrics, you can get some awesome bargains.