Should I go for Vehicle Inspection? Is it worth?

Found 29th Sep 2017
Hi All,

I am first time driver and I have zero knowledge of car parts and used vehicle checks.

I am looking to buy a used automatic toyota yaris (2012) but I am not sure if I should buy AA vehicle inspection? I trust hukd community so thought to get an unbiased view.

Should I go for AA inspection? Or some other company you recommend?

If you think, I shouldn't go for vehicle inspection before I buy used vehicle, then can you suggest me what questions I can ask the seller before I view the car? What checks I can do myself when I view the car?

Look forward to hear from you guys soon.

Regards
Community Updates
Ask
21 Comments
where you are buying from in the first place
Probably depends where you are buying it from. If its a Toyota main dealer, no. If it's a small dealer or private, you almost certainly want a technical view. Do you know anyone who maintains their own car or is a mechanic that you could take along? If not then go with the AA inspection. Better to spend £150 on an inspection than buy a lemon for a few grand.
I managed to find a mechanic from local garage that came and inspected thoroughly, test drove the car, spend 40/50 mins checking everything and charged £65. Try local check on google,
How much are you paying because keep in mind you can get a brand new Dacia for £5995 otr, with a 3 year warranty and break down cover plus no MOT for 3 years. The warranty with a used car is useless, most used car warranty's require you to pay for the repair first and then claim against your warranty, at which point most will say that was not covered.

32129439-jU08l.jpg
Edited by: "SOUTHWALES" 29th Sep 2017
If you buy anywhere except from a main Toyota dealer then get the inspection done, because if there is anything found to be wrong at a later time you have a bona fide organisation to get a remedy from.
Original Poster
mattsk2 h, 28 m ago

where you are buying from in the first place