Skateboarding advice (beginner) 25/yo

Found 15th Oct 2017
Okay so basically I would like to start skating, I used to do it in my teens, but never learned any tricks, I'd just ride around the parks. I used to have a tom penny flip board with red bearings etc.

So what I'd like is some advice on buying a board (nothing as expensive as my earlier board not sure I will fully commit to it)

So I just bought some Nike SB Lunar Stefan Janoski Hyperfeel, I'm size 9, what board size do you think would be good for me? I'm not too bordered about doing tricks just riding around town etc so I'm feeling I should be going more towards a cruiser board.

If anyone could help me pick a decent one (assuming you can do a few tricks on cruisers at skateparks?)
Like I said absolute novice

Thank you

1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
18 Comments

Hey man, I would recommend searching on shpock, gumtree, ebay and maybe Facebook market place.

There are a lot of people who jump in the deep end and buy £140+ set ups from the shops. As the guys behind the till recommend only the best bits. (Don't listen to them, skate shops are a rip off at times. Don't listen to that support your local shop crap either).

Recently just seen an Element Nyjah Huston 8.25, venture highs, bones reds and ricta wheels all new (used once) go for £50 on shpock.

Shame it was high trucks and 57mm wheels or I would've taken it myself. Flogged the trucks and kept the rest.

If you want to buy from a shop as no good second hand options are about.
Enuff decks are cheap and have a real nice shape, great pop and do well. These can be had for around £17 on sale or £25 buy now off eBay. Ive used a few in the past couple of years and I've been skating for 15 years (few years out for injuries).

Enuff trucks are a bit poor, but can do for a low budget (brothers had a set and was around £25/30). Their wheels I couldn't say anything on them. Never used before.