Spare a thought for the early starters on Boxing Day

Posted 22nd Dec 2019
twitter.com/AJS…055

Some stores out there are opening 4am to accommodate people chasing sales, and having their retail staff cut short their christmas days with their family and their kids. In truth Boxing Day should be Sunday opening hours.

Anyone agree?
Community Updates

Groups

Top comments
Agree, let’s close the hospitals and let the emergency services have the day off too I worked in retail many years ago, Christmas opening wasn’t hidden, you were well aware, no one was conscripted to the job, it’s a choice. Most have a rota system, but those with kids whinged and I ended up working every year, finished on Christmas Eve, back Boxing Day at 5am, no one died
frakison22/12/2019 11:08

Agree, let’s close the hospitals and let the emergency services have the d …Agree, let’s close the hospitals and let the emergency services have the day off too I worked in retail many years ago, Christmas opening wasn’t hidden, you were well aware, no one was conscripted to the job, it’s a choice. Most have a rota system, but those with kids whinged and I ended up working every year, finished on Christmas Eve, back Boxing Day at 5am, no one died

Stop speaking logic. We don't do that here.
Reported.
There is absolutely no need for any shop to be open on boxing day
I'd be ringing in sick if they tried making me get up at that time. Also not sure why it says #torybritain on the bottom of the sign. Matalan opening hours has nothing to do with politics
Edited by: "MonkeyMan90" 22nd Dec 2019
48 Comments
I always used to love working Boxing Day and even Christmas Day as got triple pay people were always in better spirits when shopping as well.
Also not everyone has family to spend it with.
Edited by: "_Whatever_" 22nd Dec 2019
I'd be ringing in sick if they tried making me get up at that time. Also not sure why it says #torybritain on the bottom of the sign. Matalan opening hours has nothing to do with politics