struggling with manual car, would automatic be better?

Found 22nd Oct 2011
Im currently doing my lessons, im an alright driver, but am failing at roundabouts, and reading the road/thinking ahead, etc. maybe its because im concentrating too much on the gears and clutch, is it far easier to drive an automatic?
Community Updates
55 Comments
ill add that im an experienced forklift driver, and although that has a top speed of 15 mph, it is fully automatic.
Stick at it IMO, pretty soon it will become second nature and you will start to do it automatically without having to think about it. Switching to an automatic now may save you 3 or 4 hours of tuition costs but it will limit your choices later on.
deleted265520
Nothing comes straight away.

It is quite rare to be an instant hit at driving. I actually learnt more after I had passed my test. My clutch control went downhill as the car I passed in was completely different to the one I've got now. However, a week or so later it all felt natural.

Do you know where the gears are? Do not get into the habit of looking down as this is very dangerous. Also get to know how much freedom you have on the clutch and how much effort is needed to get the "bite".

Remember to pay attention and always give way to the right (unless specified when coming up to the junction).
Edited by: "deleted265520" 22nd Oct 2011
Stick with it, if you have a manual licence you can drive a manual or automatic. If you have an automatic you can only drive an automatic.
You will get used to it, it becomes second nature but it's something which comes with experience.
Good luck!
Also, my friend still failed her first driving test in an automatic so it won't necessarily make things easier/you more likely to pass as you still have to be aware of everything else you need to do.
I would say it would definitely be a bad idea to switch to an automatic. As others have said, clutch control and gear choice will definitely come with practice and experience.