Expired

Stupid but true laws

Found 20th Mar 2013
Hi was watching the matt Lucas show last night and they had a stupid but true laws debate where it was found the weird laws some people beleive to be true are infact myths. What I am trying to find out is many tears ago when I worked as a trucker we where led to beleive that it was legal to urinate at the road side as long as you peed over your rear wheels was always told this stemmed from the carters act of 18.0 something which could be true seeing as carters where the forefathers of truckers. So can anyone tell me if this is infact true or just another myth.
Community Updates
Ask
6 Comments
I think if you are a Cab Driver you are allowed to pee on nearside rear wheel,might only be for London Black Cabs and yes the law was passed when they were original Hackney Cabs horse driven,I am sure someone on this site will give you the definitive answer Cheers
At one time in the UK, it was legal for a man to urinate in public, so long as it occurred on the rear wheel of his vehicle and he had his right hand on the vehicle. The laws allowing this were the Hackney Carriage Laws, which were repealed in 1976.

Source Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peeing#Social_and_cultural_aspects

See also "Laughable Laws". Fascinating Facts & Curious Questions. Incredible. p. 44. ISBN 1-84193-495-X.