Groups

Stupid question that's been bugging me for ages.....

What way up should tin/baking foil be??
    I always do shiny side up, but is there a difference??

26 Comments

shiney side up.. i think.. but i am a man

Heroin or cooking?

LOL what a great question

I always go shiny side up, don't know why :-D

Tanchi;4005671

shiney side up.. i think.. but i am a man

Does not matter.

I was a chef and know this is a fact - either side is as good as the other.

Predikuesi;4005679

Does not matter.I was a chef and know this is a fact - either side is as … Does not matter.I was a chef and know this is a fact - either side is as good as the other.

Thought so, I've never noticed either way when cooking my sunday lunch.. it still comes out burnt. LOL

Predikuesi;4005679

Does not matter.I was a chef and know this is a fact - either side is as … Does not matter.I was a chef and know this is a fact - either side is as good as the other.

Now the question is, why is one side shiny and the other side matte?

Magic_monkey;4005727

It is just the way most sheet metals come off the line. One side is always polished, but it is the same metal throughout. Some of the really cheap tin foils are not polished.

Magic_monkey;4005727

:?

starsparkle2311;4005745

don't think it matters, but i like shiny side up:thumbsup:

I think that this is what the manufactors want. To be honest, it comes off the roll shiny side up, so why not!

The question has evolved into how do you like your tinfoil?

electriclinux;4005850

The question has evolved into how do you like your tinfoil?

Medium rare pls

I've always wondered about this too!
    now I am wondering why I never though of asking anyone? :?
    Iz daft

One side is shiny because of the rollers that brush against it as it comes off the machine.

Aluminium foil is made by rolling sheets of aluminium between pairs of polished steel rollers. The process is repeated over and over until the aluminium is squeezed thin enough.