Switch mobile provider but retain the plan and the number

Posted 24th Oct
Hi, I have a pay monthly plan that I have been using for many years and only paying a meagre amount. I am now looking to switch provider or plan to get more data and minutes. However I would like to pass on this existing plan to a family member and also use my existing number on my new plan.

Any ideas on how this could be achieved would be appreciated. Thanks.
Community Updates
Ask
12 Comments
I don't think this is feasible. To switch provider and move your number is closing the account down (hopefully someone will say otherwise).
Once number is ported, contract ceases.
You can't the deal you are on to someone else - my partner is a great deal from many years ago that we don't want to lose so she is stuck with Virgin Media forever it seems...

For those curious, £9 unlimited everything
It is possible but would need you to get two new numbers, You can pass it onto someone else, and ask for a new number, some will give you a new one in minutes no need to change the sim. You will lose your own number though and need to get a new one.
You could just ask your current supplier if you requested a change of number with them (on the current pay monthly sim), would they be able to allocate the old number on a pay as you go sim with themselves. If they are able to do that you can then request a PAC code on the pay as you go sim with your number on it and transfer to your intended new monthly plan. However I’m not sure if there is a period of time a number can be used again after it has been changed... Worth asking them.

Or alternatively ask them if they can offer an additional monthly plan on the same deal. Then just PAC over your number to your new monthly plan and give the new line to your family member.