Found 2nd Feb 2008
I've been using Tesco online shopping for a few months. They have a facility wherein if something you have ordered isn't in stock, they will send out something similar, charge you for it, even if it is grossly more expensive, and if you don't want it you tell them so and they refund the price a few days later. Now I haven't a problem with this procedure, it can sometimes be quite helpful. I have had cause to send stuff back around 4 or 5 times, the first time I looked for the refund on my bank statement just to make sure, all was fine. A few weeks ago however, just per chance I was browsing my statement and noticed that I hadn't received a refund for a 5 pound item that I had rejected around 2 weeks previous. I was a bit annoyed and quite concerned that it might not have been the first time I had sent something back and had not been refunded, I don't tend to keep my receipts for long so I can no longer cross-reference these with my bank statement. Moreover I'm a student so that 5 pounds is going to hit me at some point as I budget for everything.

I let Tescos know, and they were rather blase about it all, even though Had I not flagged the mistake up they would have been +£5. I got an email back along the lines of hah - that's inconvenient, check your balance again in a couple of days or something. Would I was really looking for was a, yer that's pretty bad, we're really sorry, we don't want to lose you as a customer, here's your money back and a £5 voucher.
My question is; was it unreasonable to expect this? On the basis that they seem to issue vouchers for general use for that amount and more on a regular basis, I didn't think so, others have disagreed though, just wanted to know what you guys think.

1. Misc
Groups
  1. Misc
12 Comments

Last time I waited nearly 28 days for a refund, and I got no such apology either. I called them 3 times and got the response of it may take upto 1 month for us to refund.