The most extreme thing you have done to save money?

Found 19th Dec 2017
Hi!

I am a design student currently working on a project regarding the subculture of extreme money savers.

I'd be interested to know the most extreme things you have done to save money, no matter how small or funny it may be.

Anything you can share will help me tremendously!

Thank you.

1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
Top comments

Got divorced, cost me a fair bit to start with but the savings now are well worth it

Walked over a 20p coin the other day at the top of an escalator. couldn’t pick it up because everyone was stacked behind me. 2 days later I’m still thinking of that darn coin
tallpete3350 m ago

When things were tough I would constantly look out for dropped money on …When things were tough I would constantly look out for dropped money on the street. Found quite a lot surprisingly

Edited by: "Toptrumpet" 19th Dec 2017
29 Comments

My flatmate wouldn’t let us use the heating at uni last year, as he said it would cost too much. That meant I had to wear 2 jumpers, tracksuit bottoms, and thick woolly socks around the house during the winter term
Edited by: "hgraham4" 19th Dec 2017

Original Poster

hgraham44 m ago

My flatmate wouldn’t let us use the heating at uni last year, as he said i …My flatmate wouldn’t let us use the heating at uni last year, as he said it would cost too much. That meant I had to wear 2 jumpers, tracksuit bottoms, and thick woolly socks around the house during the winter term

I understand your pain!

My Dad used to cut his pipe tobacco with shredded banana skins and leaf tea. Apparently a popular method of making your baccy go further during WW2.

Not me, but one of my friends from uni pretty much took all her toilet roll from uni/public toilets. Didn’t buy a single loo roll during the entire course. Some of my other uni friends also went a year without using the heating in their flat share to save on bills, they just wore coats indoors.