Groups

Thinking of learning to play guitar

Just after a bit of advice

Thinking of learning to play guitar and have been looking around at acoustic guitars and I presume you get what you pay for.

Obviously don't want to spend loads on one in case I can't pick it up and don't want to buy dead cheap in case it's rubbish so just wondered from anyone on here how much should I be looking at spending for an acoustic guitar to learn on.

Thanks

10 Comments

i bought a yamaha F310 for £60, nice sound and good for beginners
    Edited by: "mosskeeto" 6th Feb 2011

Yamaha F310 - really nice guitar. Other one to think about is the vintage v300 but thats a bit more money......

I got this kit and it's pretty good for £113 - every 6 months or so they reduce the price - they had it for £94 before Xmas and £123 before that....
    amazon.co.uk/Yam…8-2

justinguitar.com has a complete beginners video course - great site.

You might want to check out this thread as well
    hotukdeals.com/mis…249

Definitely get a guitar stand - you're far more likely to practice if the guitar is out in the open

Edited by: "gari189" 5th Feb 2011

I think you are best buying off ebay... a good second hand one will be better than a new crap one. Get a decent on for £80-£100 off there... buy by "nearest" so you can check it out.

electrics are easier to play btw
    if you have your heart set on an accostic:
    i love my F310, 40 quid off gumtree
    and its much ceahper to get 2nd hand and not really a loss in quality
    Edited by: "nebno6" 6th Feb 2011

Original Poster

jonb2412

I think you are best buying off ebay... a good second hand one will be … I think you are best buying off ebay... a good second hand one will be better than a new crap one. Get a decent on for £80-£100 off there... buy by "nearest" so you can check it out.